THIS year’s rugby league Nines World Circuit is wasting no time in getting underway, with the Cook Islands Nines starting at Rarotonga’s BCI Stadium today.

Queensland Kukis, the sole overseas team, touched down in Rarotonga midweek to defend their title.

Ngatangiia-Matavera are to field two teams in the two-day tournament. Other sides are Arorangi, Aitutaki, Tupapa, Avatiu, Titikaveka and Miyaki. Two women’s teams will also play this year.

Other key Nines dates to have already been announced include the Cabramatta Nines in Sydney on the first weekend of February, Hong Kong Nines at King’s Park on May 4 and the inaugural World Cup Nines at Parramatta Stadium in Sydney on October 18 and 19.

Photo: Asia-Pacific Rugby League Confederation